Professor earns
Haecker Award

Quantrill honored for "sustained,
significant research leadership

For his outstanding contributions to the growth of research in architecture, Malcolm Quantrill, distinguished professor of architecture at Texas A&M University, was presented the 2002 James Haecker Distinguished Leadership Award for Architectural Research by the Architectural Research Centers Consortium (ARCC).

The award, which honors the ARCC’s founding executive secretary, James Haecker, is presented annually to an individual who has demonstrated sustained and significant research leadership accomplishments at national or international levels.

Quantrill, director of the Center for the Advancement of Studies in Architecture, has had a long and distinguished career in writing, teaching and research. He as authored, co-authored, translated and edited numerous books examining architectural research, practices, traditions, and teaching.

His most recent effort, the co-translation and revision of “The Architectural Project,” a book by Argentinean scholar Alfonso Corona-Martínez, offers a challenging interpretation of design education and its effect on design process and products.

Other books authored, co-authored or edited by Quantrill include: “The Norman Foster Studio: Consistency through Diversity,” “The Culture of Silence,” “Finnish Architecture and the Modernist Tradition,” “Urban Forms, Suburban Dream,” “Constancy and Change in Architecture,” “Reima Pietilä: One Man's Odyssey in Search of Finnish Architecture,” “The Environmental Memory,” “Reima Pietilä: Architecture, Context and Modernism,” and “Alvar Aalto: A Critical Study.”

Quantrill’s areas of interest lie in architectural history and theory, architectural and urban design, and design diagnostics. He joined the architecture faculty at Texas A&M University in 1984 and was promoted to the rank of distinguished professor in 1986. In 1990, he received the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture’s Distinguished Professor Award.

Quantrill earned a doctorate in engineering in 1975 from Technical University of Wroclaw in Poland. He received a Master of Architecture from the University of Pennsylvania in 1955 and a bachelor in architecture in 1954 from Liverpool University.

In 1998, in recognition of his contribution to the study of modern Finnish architecture, Quantrill was conferred as "Knight Commander" in the Order of the Knights of the Lion of Finland by Finnish President Koivisto.

He maintains membership in the Royal Institute of British Architects in the United Kingdom, and in the Comité Internacional de Críticos de Arquitectura in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

The ARCC, the organization which presented Quantrill with the Haecker award, is an international association committed to expanding research culture and its supporting infrastructure in architecture and related design areas.

- The End -

^ Back to top