President honors professor for sustained public service

Mann receives Bush Excellence Award for socially significant studio design projects

George J. Mann, the Ronald L. Skaggs Endowed Professor of Health Facilities Design in the College of Architecture, received the Texas A&M University Bush Excellence Award for Faculty in Public Service at a special Feb. 27, 2003 presentation at the Bush Presidential Conference Center.

The award recognizes faculty who have made outstanding contributions to public service by demonstrating a sustained, long-term application of disciplinary expertise to the public or non-profit sector in local, statewide, national, or international arenas.

Mann has spearheaded more than 400 socially significant architecture design studio projects which have enhanced the health and welfare of people in need around the world, while providing students with practical, hands on experience through 'real-world' projects yielding consequential humanitarian results.

The award was established through the vision and support of President and Mrs. George H.W. Bush and with financial assistance from the George Bush Presidential Library Foundation.

"Texas A&M is very grateful to President and Mrs. Bush for establishing the Bush Faculty Awards," Assistant Provost for International Programs Emily Ashworth said. "Because of the generosity of President and Mrs. Bush and the Bush Foundation, the university has the opportunity to recognize these outstanding faculty for their achievements in research, teaching and public service."

Texas A&M University President Robert Gates and Bush Presidential Library Foundation Executive Director Roman Popadiuk presented Mann with a plaque accompanied by a $2,500 gift. Three anonymous committees, composed of faculty, reviewed the nominations and made the final selections.

- The End -

^ Back to top

Click image to enlarge.