Professorships established

Former students honor Michael Murphy, Jim Smith with professorship endowment gifts

Former students and friends of the Department of Construction Science have created the James C. Smith ’70 Endowed Professorship in honor of the outgoing head of the department. Income from the $150,000 fund will support the teaching, research and professional activities of a faculty member in the department whose work reflects the importance of relationships between academic programs and the construction industry. Initial donors to the professorship are Leslie Feigenbaum ’80, Ronald J. Gafford ’72, Charles L. Greco ’78, Herbert C. Hale, Jr. ’52, R. Stan Marek ’69, Bryan Mitchell ’70, Jack Morris ’52, John R. Richardson ’68, and James R. Thompson ’68.

Similarly, George W. Seagraves ’80 of Alexandria, VA, has established a $25,000 endowed scholarship in the name of Michael D. Murphy ’61, of one of his former professors in the Department of Landscape Architecture and Urban Planning. Seagraves notes that Murphy, who joined the faculty in 1969, continues to have a positive influence on each succeeding generation of landscape architecture students.

Larry Zuber, director of development for the college, said the positive influence of a faculty member is the reason many former students donate to the college.

“What a faculty member did for a person when they were in college, and what faculty members continue to do for their students and their disciplines, are tremendously important factors in someone’s decision to make a gift,” he said.

For more information on honoring a faculty member with an endowment, contact Zuber at (979)845-0939 or

- The End -

^ Back to top

Michael D. Murphy

James C. Smith