Distinguished service

Retired faculty Pugh, McCarthy
named professors emeritus
For their significant contributions to Texas A&M University, two retired professors from the Department of Landscape Architecture and Urban Planning, Michael McCarthy and David Pugh, were recently awarded the title of professor emeritus by the Texas A&M University Board of Regents.

Emeritus titles are awarded to former A&M professors who have demonstrated long and distinguished service in administration, teaching, research, and service.

McCarthy joined the Texas A&M faculty in 1988 as dean of the College of Architecture, a position he held for three years. His areas of professional interest include land development and the environment, with an emphasis in environmental and mitigation banking.

Pugh, who joined the faculty in 1976, was coordinator of the master of urban planning program. He initiated the Texas Target Cities outreach program, through which the Department of Landscape Architecture and Urban Planning provided technical assistance and consultation to Texas communities.

Both professors retired at the end of the 2003-04 academic year.

— The End —

January 10, 2005


Michael McCarthy

David Pugh